I’m faking my disability!?

Hello! I’m back again. 🙂

Wow, I can’t quite believe that it’s already April. The past 4 months have been a whirlwind for me and if I’m brutally honest, blogging hasn’t really been my main priority. But sometimes I can’t pull myself away from it! (Am I addicted? Who knows.)

Okay, so let me start with a little update… I’ve lost ALL use of my legs, from the waist down due to an undiagnosed neurological condition. (Seeing the neuro team soon!) Therefore I am now totally wheelchair dependent – it’s certainly been a life changing experience.

– – – –

Chronic illness has been a part of my life for many years now and that’s something I’m learning to accept. Life with several chronic, invisible and incurable illnesses is certainly different.

When reading fellow chronic illness based blogs I noticed that a lot of people choose to write about their experiences with *idiots* who come out with things such as ‘aren’t you too young to be in a chair?’ or ‘are you really THAT disabled?’ or even being accused of FAKING THEIR ILLNESS?

(I am aware that there are individuals out there who do fake illnesses, for many reasons. This is in no way a dig at them.)

Seeing as I wasn’t permanently in my chair, I previously felt it would be wrong if I expressed my opinion on this issue. But now, I feel that my reliance on a chair gives me permission to share my thoughts.

– – – –

HOW INSENSITIVE AND SHELTERED CAN PEOPLE BE? Is it really necessary to ask such a personal, idiotic question? Is there a law on how old you need to be to use a wheelchair? Do you expect me to have a noticeable physical disability?

Yes, I’m 20 and live life in a wheelchair, so what? I’m still human. Aren’t I?

No, I don’t have a noticeable physical disability. The cause of my paralysis is neurological/invisible. I can’t walk. Don’t take me at face value.

Yes, I like to go out. In my chair. With friends. Oh, my god, disabled people can have friends?! 

No, I AM NOT FAKING IT. Do you really think a 20-year-old, who was incredibly active despite her illnesses, would enjoy or want to be in a wheelchair permanently? I think not.

Yes, it’s incredibly rude to ask such questions. Maybe, approach the subject more carefully, or not at all? The chances are, I’ve just wheeled past you in town and yet you somehow feel that is appropriate to ask such a question? 

“If you don’t have anything nice to say, say nothing at all…”

Moral of the story: There isn’t an age limit on wheelchair users. Disabled individuals can have a life. Your comments are rude and usually hurtful. No, we aren’t faking it, although we may accept that our future involves a wheelchair but that doesn’t mean we don’t wish it could be different.

– – – –

Holy cow, did I go off on one? Sorry!

Anyway, why don’t you comment below YOUR opinions? (Or email me!)

Thank you for reading,

S. x

14 thoughts on “I’m faking my disability!?

      1. I’ve had to do the same thing, unfortunately. I have EDS, too. We need to consider our stress levels and friends who don’t get it are too much of a drain. I looked at your dx page. I had an ME diagnosis, but think that was wrong, but maybe that is wishful thinking? I also have IBS, GORD, arthritis and Hyperadrenergic POTS amongst other things! Good luck and run over a few inconsiderate toes in your wheelchair when you can. 😁😁

        Liked by 2 people

  1. You SHOULD go off! I have been sick with numerous illnesses all my life and I have had to hear, “but you’re too young to be sick!” and “it can’t be THAT bad!” All my fucking life. I have gotten so incredibly sick of hearing these comments and met with doubt and eye rolling. It is beyond enraging!

    As for the rest, I am so sorry that you have lost some mobility, but you have the right attitude going. I’m glad that you can still have fun and have a life in your wheelchair. It doesn’t have to end your life, not to mention that you are breaking down ignorance and stereotypes along the way. I do hope your condition gets sorted out, but for now, do you, and fuck the rest!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi,
    It is great that you support wheelchair dependent people. You also support the bloggers that support them. I’m sure you have a popular site for both reasons.
    Maybe you can check out my site if you need blogging tips. That’s what I write about. I also have blog parties like Danny Ray. I met you on his site.
    Janice

    Like

  3. Very well said!!! I’m not in a wheelchair, yet………..but I may be soon. I do have many invisible, chronic illnesses, so I do get it!!! Keep telling it like it is!!!! We need to speak up. I wish you the best. I hope you get some answers and relief soon. XXX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

