I need you to realise this…

Being chronically ill isn’t glamorous.

My medical conditions DO NOT define me. I am still a human being, as are you. Except, you’re not living life with debilitating conditions.

My wheelchair DOES NOT mean I have to sit on the sidelines and I refuse to be labelled as ‘unable’ because of it. Why? Because my wheelchair has given me a whole new lease of life; my chair allows me to go out and lead the life I choose.

Do you think I WANT to miss out on invitations? Whether that be an invite to a birthday party or just to go into town and grab some lunch. We all need a certain level of human interaction…

I DO NOT enjoy this life. I DO NOT like the endless amount of hospital appointments. I DO NOT like missing out on activities. I WANT to be a normal 20 year old; but it’s not physically possible.

– – – –

Since being told that I have several chronic illnesses, my life has dramatically changed.

I’ve learnt who my true friends are.

I’m constantly dealing with deteriorating health.

I spend the majority of my time at home. Either in pain, unable to move or asleep.

CHRONIC ILLNESS HAS TAKEN OVER MY LIFE

– – – –

Once again, thank you for reading.

I hope you are all well and that you have a great week!

S. x

Leave a Reply

